BH Number Plates: Everything You Need To Know About The Bharat Number Plates

BH series number plate
BH series number plate

Vehicles are registered according to the states with number plates according to the specific states. It becomes really troublesome to shift to another state. By law, you are allowed to use a vehicle with registration from another state for one year. But, sometimes, it gets really difficult to cope up with the law enforcers. To counter this problem, the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways has introduced a new series of number plates with the initials ‘BH’ which stands for Bharat. Let’s take a look at the new changes which were supposed to go live by 15th September. 

What is the ‘BH’ number plate and how can I apply for it?

BH stands for Bharat and this number plate will allow you to change states without changing the registration every time. Do note that it is possible if:

  1. You are a government employee and will be required to show a government ID proof in order to get the BH series number plate.
  2. If you are a private sector employee in a company that has offices in 4 or more locations, then you will have to submit the documents such as Form 20A accordingly.

The whole process will be online. You can book a BH series registration number plate if you’re eligible.

How will the BH number plate look like?

BH series number plate
BH series number plate

The number plate will begin with two numbers denoting the year of manufacture. It will be followed by the BH series code. Then, you can see two alphabets starting from AA and ending at ZZ followed by a four-digit code beginning from 0001 to 9999.

What will be the cost of getting the BH number plate?

You will have to pay the road tax according to the table as follows:

BH number plate road tax
BH number plate road tax

If you buy a car with an invoice price of fewer than ₹10 lakhs, you will have to pay 8% motor vehicle tax. If your vehicle costs you between ₹10-20 lakhs, you will have to pay 10% vehicle tax. And if your vehicle costs above ₹20 lakhs, you will have to pay 12% tax. Note that diesel vehicles will have a 2% extra charge while electric vehicles will attract 2% less tax.

What’s worth mentioning here is that you will not be paying a lump sum road tax as you do for normal registration of 15 years. You will have to pay tax every 2 years and then after 14 years, you will have to pay tax every 1 year. Also, note that you will have to pay tax online. In case you miss paying the tax, you will have to pay a ₹100 fine per day.

And this is all you need to know about the BH number plates in India. In case you have any queries, feel free to ask in the comments section below.

Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here